Think You’re Always Right? These 4 Questions Will Show You Otherwise

Daniel Bourke
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readOct 7, 2019

--

With every thought, ask yourself, “Why am I having this thought?”.

Your brain is playing a continual trick on you. Every thought you think, your brain believes it’s true.

This isn’t a bad thing. It’s efficient. But sometimes it pays to see how quickly your view of the world can change.

You can practice by going through these steps every time you think something.

1. Is this true?

2. Is this really true?

3. What does believing this thought do to my experience of reality?

4. Who would I be without this thought?

5. List the opposites of your initial belief.

Let’s try.

I was at Jiu-Jitsu the other night. We were wrestling and I put my opponent in a foot lock. I pulled it on tight and he started yelling at me. I let go of his leg and he started speaking.

“If you foot lock me again, I’ll punch your lights out.”

Usually, if something hurts, you tap and the other person stops. I didn’t feel him tap. I told him.

He never admitted he tapped. I could feel he didn’t want to. I’m a white belt and he’s a blue belt.

My mind started thinking, his ego was holding him back. Instead of tapping, he decided to…

--

--