This Is How I Stopped Hating Myself

Justine Rodes
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readJul 22, 2020

--

Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

During my childhood and adolescent life, I was hated by my peers. I experienced my fair share of bullying when I was as young as 6 years old. I was always considered an easy target especially since I was considered the new kid three times from moving schools. The kids at school would always refer to me as a stupid, ugly, annoying, and weird kid. I was the kid who was the last person chosen to be on a team in gym class and the one who everyone excluded.

While growing up, my sister also had it out for me. She would remind me every day that I was stupid, ugly, weird, and annoying. She made sure that I would process those harmful words by constantly being reassuring. Those words that described me followed me to high school.

My grades were so horrible that I almost didn’t graduate 8th grade. Because of this, I felt that everything said about me such as calling me stupid was true. On top of that — my mother wasn’t too fond of me as well. She still today does not remember that day she called me a mistake because she was frustrated with me and my poor grades.

Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

During my freshman year of high school, I didn’t try out or audition for anything because I didn’t feel like I was…

--

--

Justine Rodes
Ascent Publication

Writer for Invisible Illness and Better Advice l Listen to my podcast Mentally A Badass IG:mentallyabadass