This Unconventional Lesson Changed James Altucher’s Life

“Vulnerability buys freedom. Freedom to look how I want, to say what I want, to do what I want.”

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readJul 14, 2020

--

Image Credit: Wikimedia Creative Commons (Pictured: James Altucher)

James Altucher says he “grew up ugly.”

It takes a lot of vulnerability to admit that. It’s like walking into a room and instantly giving everybody a reason to forget about you. Who wants to be around someone that thinks they are really ugly?

James has made a life out of vulnerability.

Vulnerability has bought him freedom.

That freedom has made him rich and poor many times over. He doesn’t seem to care though. He thinks his financial situation is one big science experiment.

James’s life is similar to Tim Ferriss’. It’s nothing more than a series of experiments. His podcast is an experiment. His business is an experiment. His writing is the biggest experiment of all.

Treating your life as an experiment turns you into an accidental teacher. When you teach, you’re always learning.

In writing, James calls vulnerability “bleeding in the first line.” To bleed is to show the contents of your heart.

I tried James’s vulnerability life-hack when he first started his podcast. I wondered to myself…

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb