Three Ways To Uncover Life-Saving Knowledge Too Profound For Words

Most of what needs to be said can never be said with words.

James Taylor Foreman
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Zulmaury Saavedra on Unsplash

There are many definitions of wisdom.

I want to offer one more: Wisdom seems to be the possession of insights that can’t be directly expressed.

The older I’ve gotten, the more of these ineffable insights I’ve picked up. When I was a kid, my world seemed a lot more literal. If you couldn’t explain it, I thought, then that means that it was nonsense or that you didn’t really know what you were talking about.

Yuval Noah Harari said something on his recent podcast with Tim Ferriss that struck me:

“I think one of the problems I realized is that it’s extremely difficult to share the really deep insights you have about life, that very often they are on the non-verbal level. And in any case, my impression is that most of the inner world of most humans is never shared. They never talk about it because they don’t even have the words and don’t have the audience. I mean, most of what happens to you deep down during the day, your spouse probably doesn’t know, your parents don’t know, your children don’t know, your friends don’t know, even you don’t know if you don’t really make the effort.”

--

--

James Taylor Foreman
Ascent Publication

Reality is narrative and our only job is to make it beautiful. Subscribe to move me directly to your inbox --> https://www.taylorforeman.com/