Unthinkable Life Lessons from Jim Carrey That Will Make You Feel Superhuman

“10 minutes before you die this overwhelming sense of peace comes over you.”

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readSep 5, 2020

--

Image Credit: wallpapercave/simplecapacity.com

Jim Carrey is a stoic genius and he doesn’t even know it.

I grew up, high on Jim Carrey.

Once I saw “The Mask” I was hooked. Ace Ventura sealed the deal. For a kid trying to escape the darkness of the mind, the Jim Carrey experience was joyous. He made me laugh and that took me to another dimension. Whenever the pain became too much I could just switch on one of his movies and wonder what it was like to be crazy awesome like him.

At thirteen-years-old my best friend introduced me to a magazine article. It said that Jim Carrey suffered mental illness and was suicidal. My mind was confused. How could someone so funny and successful be suicidal? It was the first window I ever had into the false reality I was living in. That experience was something I never forgot; the image is still clear in my mind of that day.

Jim Carrey disappeared from my life after “Me, Myself & Irene.” I don’t know where he went after that. I discovered Jim again a few years back when I heard his story of writing a check to himself for $10M before he became a household Hollywood name.

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb