Why We Need to Demolish Society’s Current Standards for Beauty

My friend told me to “glow up” just because I was dark-skinned.

Lovella June
Ascent Publication

--

I had a casual conversation with a good friend of mine about our fun childhood experiences. We never had problems conversating as we’re deeply connected, not only emotionally but also spiritually. We have that deep understanding of each other, so I never thought there would be a single opinion or preference that would cause us to clash and have my moral values crushed.

I was narrating to her my story about how I used to ride a bike every day during noon hours under the blazing heat, burning and darkening my skin, and that my skin never recovered from it. Her response took me by surprise.

She said, “You need to glow up.”

Does one really need to be light-skinned to be beautiful?

Initially, I didn’t want to make any assumption from a single statement, so I clarified with her, and she admitted that she didn’t mean it that way.

I would believe so.

But I was reminded of the past when we had this online mutual friend. This lady exudes charisma, and even though we haven’t met her personally, I could feel her confidence from the…

--

--

Lovella June
Ascent Publication

Introspections of a Creative Nomad. Talks about Creativity, Dog-parenting, and Personal Development (MBTI, CliftonStrength) lovejunestudio.com