What A Traditional Peruvian Ayahuasca Experience Taught Me

N.A. Turner
Ascent Publication
Published in
12 min readMay 15, 2019

--

“We shall not cease from exploration,

And the end of all our exploring,

Will be to arrive where we started,

And know the place for the first time.”

- T.S. Eliot

I’ve always wanted to do it. Ayahuasca. That strange, scary and intriguing drug from the Amazonian jungle.

Many of my friends had tried it on trips to South America. I was always mesmerized by their stories. Stories of deeply getting to know oneself. Stories of wonder, fantastical lands, out of body experiences, conversations with the dead, or seeing “the future”.

I know, it sounds crazy… and well, it is.

***About 30 minutes after taking the drink I suddenly heard music. Even though it was dark with my eyes closed, a bright white light surrounded me. So it began. I heard people chanting, birds chirping and other animals calling for me. It was like mother nature called.***

--

--

N.A. Turner
Ascent Publication

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail