What Being an Athlete Taught Me About What Makes a Person Successful

You can learn how to improve your life and your work simply by embodying the athlete.

Zachary Minott
Ascent Publication

--

My entire life I’ve been an athlete. As long as I remember I’ve been part of a team or some sort of extracurricular sport.

I started off in Tae Kwon Do at a young age and went on with it until late elementary school to the point where I got my 2nd-degree black belt. Around that time I began swimming competitively which I ended up loving and having a natural talent for. A few years after starting swimming I was then introduced to Water Polo. Water Polo was the one sport I absolutely fell in love with and actually proceeded to compete in beyond high school into college as a Division I Athlete. Now less than a year after college, I’ve hung up the towel with water sports after more than a decade of competing and now focus my athletic abilities on Crossfit and Olympic Lifting.

I love sports and I love being active. It brings clarity of mind and a sense of well being that can be rarely replicated elsewhere. Being active my entire life it’s only natural that it had a profound effect on my personal growth and the shaping of me as a person.

That being said here are 11 ways that athletics has transformed me as a person and…

--

--

Zachary Minott
Ascent Publication

Salesforce Architect | Olympic Weightlifter | Pseudo-Philosopher | Email: zacharyminott1997@gmail.com