What decisions do you need to make today to get there tomorrow?

Shawn Kolodny
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readAug 30, 2017

Do you want to be an artist? A triathlete? A singer? A writer? A great parent? An amazing husband? Well I have news for you. You won’t just become one. They each take work and focus and time. Where you focus your energy, is the person you will become. What will you do today to be the person you want to become tomorrow? Simple, focus your attention. Create habits to foster the action of the person you want to be. Over a long enough time, you will become that person.

Work on being generous, sharing and positive, you will be those. Be careful, it also works in reverse. If you spend your time being a selfish, reactive, vindictive person, that’s who you will become. Life is short. Time is our most precious commodity. How are you going to spend your hours?

I wanted to be an artist. Great, so what.

It wasn’t until I decided to focus my attention and make time to create. It wasn’t till I committed to taking ownership of my work. It wasn’t till I was uncomfortable sharing my work before I thought it was ready. It wasn’t until I was open to coincidences and opportunities (I had opportunity to move to Miami part-time to open a studio). These actions. These persistent actions, over time have allowed me to begin to see my dream of becoming an artist as a reality. There were plenty of times I wanted to do something else; go to a party, see a movie, dinner with a friend, go on a date. I decided to stay home and paint instead. What are you doing today to become the person you want to be tomorrow. Where is your focus?

Who do you look up to? No one magically becomes that person. They work hard to hone their craft. Ask Michael Phelps how he spends his days. You only see the fun stuff, the medals and awards. You don’t see his; swim, eat, sleep schedule for decades. His takes the actions every day to be the champion he wants to be. His focus is on swimming. Getting a bit better a bit faster and a bit stronger every day.

I paint and write daily. And yes I have a job I am late for right now. But I make the time for the work. I make time to take the actions to become the person I want to be. That means missing out on a lot, a small price to pay for your making your dream into a reality.

So I ask again, what are you doing today to become the person you want to be tomorrow.

If you enjoyed it, hit that heart button below. Would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see the story.

--

--