What Does It Mean to Have Strength?

Embracing character traits to move you purposely forward in life

Karen Humphries
Ascent Publication
Published in
8 min readJun 28, 2020

--

I was told the other day that I was an inspiration to someone in how I shared the steps I was encountering within my current breast cancer chapter. At the time it was quite hard to accept, let alone swallow. I’ve worked through that now. I was somewhat embarrassed and yet at the same time very humbled. Now I realise that I am sharing my strength by showing others how to continue with life, no matter what adversity pops onto my path.

I am after all more than just a cancer experience. I am still the same cheeky gal I was before. I just have an enormous collection of titty jokes now and perky motorboat worthy boobies!

I decided early on to share snippets of my story. It’s therapeutic to get stuff off my chest (ahem pun intended). Additionally, it’s educational to share bits and pieces. Because let’s face it, you truly have no idea of how intense and confronting cancer is until you experience it yourself.

This cancer chapter has gifted me the awareness that I continue to live a life whereby I make decisions for me, and not invest in the opinion of others. Someone else’s opinion of me…

--

--

Karen Humphries
Ascent Publication

Lover of life, laugh-a-holic, joy seeker, avid lesson learner and book author. Want more visit https://karenhumphries.net.au/changeagrams/