What I Learned as a Barista in NYC

It was more than just latte art.

Mira Ciganek
Ascent Publication
6 min readAug 7, 2021

--

Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I moved to New York City as a giddy eighteen-year-old. Naturally, the last thing I wanted to do was get a job. Balancing work, school, and some semblance of a social life was a daunting task. But living in the city, especially as a less than frugal college student, came at a price. And thus began my journey from buying $8 lattes every day to making them.

I worked at restaurants growing up in my little hometown, but nothing compared to the hustle and bustle of New York. Everyone who was hiring knew this. At first, my modest resume and I struggled to get any bites. After a few odd jobs and a great amount of persistence, however, I ended up working for one of the more acclaimed coffee shops in Manhattan.

This is everything I’ve learned working as a Barista in New York City — from landing the job to leaving the job for better things.

How I Got the Job

It took me about six months to finally find a good place to work in New York. I walked dogs for a while and tried out other cafes, gradually improving my resume until it was up to par. Eventually, I was offered an interview at Gasoline Alley Coffee, a trendy place with some name recognition and locations in Lower Manhattan. There were a few steps I followed to find and secure the job.

Photo by João Ferrão on Unsplash

First, I walked around and handed out my resume anywhere that was hiring or that looked interesting. I picked neighborhoods near my apartment or my school and went up and down each block. At the time, I was specifically looking for coffee shops, but this approach works for bars and restaurants as well. I have gotten many serving and hosting positions this way in the past.

After handing out dozens of copies of my resume over the course of a few weeks, I finally got some traction. I worked temporarily at another cafe in the city, but I also began to follow up at a few of my favorite options that hadn’t gotten back to me. I chose Gasoline Alley Coffee as it came highly recommended and was located blocks from my school.

Sure enough, a week later they called me back and I was on the books for a preliminary meet and greet. I made sure to arrive early and tip the barista on the drink they made me. It may seem obvious, but my manager informed me later on that attention to detail immediately puts potential new hires ahead of the pack. After another final interview, I was offered the job.

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

How I Got the Most Out of the Job

Okay, so I landed the job. The question now is how do I make the most of out it? How do I enjoy it without letting it become my entire life? Toeing the line between being a good employee and not getting taken advantage of is something I struggle with, as do others in the service industry.

I combatted this by catering to the needs of my co-workers, but not my bosses. It may seem counterintuitive, but let me explain. I made sure to arrive early, cover and swap shifts when feasible, and leave the shop clean for those who were working next. I didn’t mind doing a lot of the dirty work when I was being trained as well. It was only fair to my co-workers. When it came to the owners, however, I knew when to put my foot down. This approach works best when you have a middle manager and more hands-off bosses.

It’s crucially important to stand up for yourself when it comes to time off, scheduling, pay, and so on. I will qualify this advice, however. I always try to be on the good side of whoever makes the schedule. I was flexible and accommodating when it came to scheduling so I could leave early for doctor's appointments and get finals week off. Depending on the dynamic between management and employees, this relationship can be strictly transactional or verge on friendship. I scratch their back and they scratch mine.

It also pays to make nice with any neighboring stores. I worked in NoHo, a trendy area of Manhattan packed full of cafes and shops. One of my favorite perks of working at that location was all of the free stuff. Whether it was the daily drinks I would make for myself or the free samples from nearby restaurants and stores, it is definitely something to take advantage of. Just make sure it’s all above board. I’ve definitely gotten in trouble before for giving out one too many discounts.

When it comes to warning-worthy or even fireable offenses, it usually doesn’t happen all at once. People who openly disregarded rules, were consistently late, and had poor attitudes eventually got the boot. But it’s typically pretty hard to get fired in the service industry, even in New York. I witnessed a few times in which people stormed out, but these were generally over larger disputes. What I will say is that missing a shift entirely, with no notice or excuse, will put you on thin ice. Missing two shifts will usually put you out of a job.

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

How I Got Other Opportunities Through the Job

The best thing I gained from being a barista wasn’t work experience or a regular paycheck, although those were greatly needed. During my time at Gasoline Alley Coffee, I was met with incredible opportunities that would have otherwise been difficult to seek out.

Nearly every shift I met someone who worked in music, fashion, publishing, or tech. When you live and work in New York City it’s not hard to find interesting people. And when you see them every day it’s not hard to strike up a conversation. This was a great way to network, whether it was for myself or for others. And all it took was a little small talk. Asking someone where they’re off to or what they do for work goes a long way. I ended up interviewing a well-known film score composer and connecting with designers and editors through social media.

When you serve someone their coffee every morning, I’d like to think you get to know them pretty well. Not only was I able to make networking connections through customers, but I also made a lot of friends. Both with the people who worked alongside me and with those who I saw every day across the counter. When I decided to leave Gasoline Alley Coffee, several customers gave me meaningful gifts and handwritten notes. A few people even offered to help me find another place to work. As much as it can feel like a job at times, it more so feels like a little, misfit family.

--

--