What is my phone addiction costing me?

Anjali Arya
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readMar 16, 2018
Photo by Rob Hampson on Unsplash

On today’s episode of TLC’s My Strange Addictions, let’s talk about my not to so strange phone addiction.

Okay, maybe it’s not as serious as that, at least not serious enough to land me on that show. I’m also sure given how common it is to be addicted to your phone, it probably won’t qualify to be an episode. Though I don’t think it’s such a bad idea (in case the producers are reading this).

So why phone addiction? I can’t be the only one who has looked up one time only to find everyone around you staring directly into the technicolour screens in front of them. Now that cell phone manufacturers have made it their goal to make our screens larger and more accessible, it’s not easy to take our eyes off them. They are meant for us to get hooked on.

I recently read an article a friend of mine shared called Mindfulness and The Importance of Digital Disengagement from technology. In the article, Peter Bostlemann, director of SAP’s Global Mindfulness Practice said,

“We’re constantly bombarded by information from our devices, but when you constantly react to every buzz and bing, you end up in a state of overwhelm”.

I’m sure none of you will really disagree with that comment. In fact, there are many times I find myself just staring at my phone browsing through my social media accounts, looking at my email, reading medium articles, stressing about my tasks, looking at my calendar and more.

Sometimes I’m so pre-occupied in what’s on my screen that I tend to be in the room, but just not attentive. I know, I know, it’s rude to do so, but how can you ignore the constant buzzing and million notifications you have to answer to.

So what exactly has us hooked on these devices? We are surrounded by technology, whether it be at work, on vacation, while shopping, entertainment, etc. The accessibility of technology is what makes it so easy for us to get addicted to.

Who would ever say no to information within seconds in the palm of your hand? I know I wouldn’t. I rely on my phone quite a bit. I mean, as “basic” or “millennial” it sounds, this phone practically runs my life. It is my way to communicate with my family that lives miles away, my way to stay up to date on the latest news, my way to search questions that require answers, and my way of knowing which room my next meeting is being held in… and probably yours too.

While all of this is true, I also acknowledge that it is important to disconnect and unplug. We’ve started to lose our human touch in conversations, quality time spent in person and frankly our minds and eyes could use the break from the stressful blue lights.

I’ll admit I’m really bad at responding to my messages. In fact, there are times I will have unanswered messages for days if not weeks (ask my friends, they aren’t so pleased with that habit). Yet I still find myself on my phone, but why?

It’s the idea that I need to be available in case something happens. In case there is an emergency email while I’m in a meeting, in case I can’t miss a call, in case someone needs me. This idea of wanting to be available and be in the know is what is making it harder for us to detach ourselves from our phones.

Remember the good ol’ days of the dial-in internet, corded phones that wouldn’t let you go past the kitchen and your slotted TV time? That was our dedicated time to technology? Though I’m not advocating that we go back to that era (let’s be honest, we’ve come too far with our advancements to go back), I’m looking for ways to unplug more.

So my Medium friends, what advice do you have for this addicted girl to help her unplug more? I can tell you I’ve already completed step 1, admit that I have a problem, so what’s next?.

Anjali Arya is a Product Marketer at RL Solutions and a budding Medium blogger from Toronto, Canada. Have something interesting to share? or just curious about her work, follow her on LinkedIn, Medium and Twitter and start a conversation!

--

--

Anjali Arya
Ascent Publication

Customer Marketing Manager @Intelex. A “Curious Georgette” interested in experiential design, solution driven marketing, food and fitness.