Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

What I’ve Learned As A Food Delivery Rider

I wanted to understand what it took to be a food delivery person. So, I went and did it.

Athirah Syamimi
Published in
5 min readMar 16, 2019

--

Alright. Let me give you guys a little context before diving into what I’ve learnt.

I love ordering food for breakfast/lunch/dinner/supper. And before you call me ‘lazy’, let me explain. By ordering food in, I’m saving the time it would take for me to get ready, take the bus (or walk) to the mall. It beats queueing for food. I don’t have to wait for the waiter to take my order and wait for another 10 — 20 minutes for the food to be ready. Then, I’ll spend another 20–30 minutes to get back home.

All of that would have taken me (probably) an hour… for one meal.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate going out. I do enjoy getting out of the home to get fresh air. It’s the time spent on commuting that I don’t like.

Of course, there are exceptions such as date nights, family dinners, night out with friends, etc. However, when it comes to having a meal on my own, I’d rather order in. And during the time it takes for the food to arrive, I could shower, read a book or even finish writing an article.

--

--

Athirah Syamimi
Ascent Publication

Writing about life, side hustling and content creation.