What I’ve Learned from Elizabeth Gilbert about Merging Inner and Outer Journeys

The creative life is all about the journey.

K. Joia Houheneka
Ascent Publication

--

I first got to know Elizabeth Gilbert by reading her 2006 blockbuster hit memoir Eat, Pray, Love.

I read her book at a time when I was on the path of training to become a yoga teacher, which made the book an absolute must-read for me at that point in my life/career journey.

And as someone who has also had a lifelong fascination for travel, I was especially interested in how her book explored trips around the globe in connection with a journey toward greater inner peace and self-acceptance.

After reading through the popular crowd-pleaser, I then went and devoured her early work and her lesser-known, though often still critically acclaimed, writings.

(As a lover of historical fiction and botany, I have to confess The Signature of All Things felt like it had been written with me in mind.)

In addition, as someone with a deep passion for unraveling the creative process and spreading the gospel of creativity and innovation, I was especially intrigued by her widely-viewed TED Talk and her subsequent book all about creative living, Big Magic.

Confession…

--

--

K. Joia Houheneka
Ascent Publication

"The World's Premier Excellence Coach" empowering entrepreneurs building high-end, premium, and luxury brands - On a Mission to Elevate Luxury