What makes you successful?

Aditya Bharadwaj
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2018
“A man in a formal suit checking his smartphone while walking out of an office building” by Bram Naus on Unsplash

To answer this question you have to answer the below question first.

What is the definition of success for you?

Is it to be on the cover of Time Magazine?

Is it to become a Billionaire?

Is it to own a sports team?

Is it to own a house in Malibu?

The definition of success is different for everyone and my definition will be different from yours. There is no “one size fits all” definition of success which anyone can use. So, you have to figure out what you want to achieve and why?

But…

What happens when you achieve your definition of success? Are you successful?

What happens when you finally own that football club? Are you successful?

What happens when you are a billionaire? Are you successful?

And if you are successful, what do you do next?

This is a question that I have been exploring for a while now. And Marlon Wayans sums it up nicely.

Success is not a destination, but the road that you’re on. Being successful means that you’re working hard and walking your walk every day. You can only live your dream by working hard towards it. That’s living your dream. — Marlon Wayans

Success is not a destination, it is the journey of achieving your dreams. It is the process of working hard every day to be better than you were yesterday.

When you start out on your journey you decide that success would be to make a million dollars. But when get to that goal, you realize you are not exactly satisfied. You never felt the satisfaction of achieving that goal, that you expected. You don’t feel successful.

Because success is not about hitting that big target, or goal. It is the process, the journey that you take trying to achieve that goal is the definition of success. Every day you are doing something that you love is a day when you are successful.

So stop attaching your success to material things such as a mansion, a purple Lamborghini, or a yacht. Instead, strive towards doing something that you love. You will be more satisfied doing that rather than owning that purple Lamborghini.

I will call myself successful when I am doing things that I love and I am my own boss. If life is a road and doing the things I love is like driving a Lamborghini.

Then…

If I am driving a Lamborghini on the highway of my life, I’ll know I am successful.

You, are the driver of your life go figure out what car you want to drive and then don’t look back!

If you enjoyed reading, don’t forget to Clap and Share.

To read more of my content follow me on Instagram|Facebook|Twitter | Medium.

--

--

Aditya Bharadwaj
Ascent Publication

Bearded philosopher with a motorcycle touring disorder!