What To Do If Your Job Is Sucking the Life Out of You

Steve Spring
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readSep 23, 2020

--

Photo by shahin khalaji on Unsplash

A couple of years ago, I held a management position for a large healthcare company. I had been with the company for several years and I had lived through several periods of growing pains, and upper management changes.

During my time with the company, I had taken on more and more responsibility and was currently managing departments located in three different hospitals.

During our winter “season,” the days stretch from early morning into the evening. It seems like as soon as you solve one crisis another one appears.

When I finally got to go home, I was bombarded by phone calls, emails, and never-ending text messages.

This was my norm for years.

Does this sound familiar to you?

Are you always too busy?

To busy to eat right?

To busy to get enough sleep?

To busy for your friends and family?

Is your constant focus on work ruining your life?

Successful People Are Busy

“It is not enough to be busy; so are the ants. The question is: What are we busy about?” ― Henry David Thoreau

--

--

Steve Spring
Ascent Publication

Husband, Father, Christian, coffee lover. Writer for Live Your Life On Purpose, The Startup, Better Humans, BeYourself and The Ascent.