What You Can Learn From the Longest Study on Happiness

This Harvard study made me change my social habits.

Laura Kreuz
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by juan mendez from Pexels

What makes us truly happy?

While surfing the internet on a perfectly regular day, I ran across a study that tries to answer this question. The Harvard Study of Adult Development, also known as The Grant Study, has a duration of nearly 80 years.

The researchers started by analyzing 268 Harvard students in 1938. They observed the participants’ lives throughout the decades, their overall health, their life choices, successes, and failures.

Even though the results are not surprising at all, they made me rethink some of my past choices. With that in mind, I’ve made some changes that I believe are for the better.

Here’s how a Harvard study made me change my social habits:

Developing Meaningful Relationships

The main finding of the study is that the major drive for happiness is developing meaningful relationships.

Now, as in introvert, I have to confess that this made me a bit anxious. I have always struggled to meet new people and it was quite traumatizing in my school times. I’ve never had a huge amount of friends and only found a boyfriend when I was 22. So when Harvard…

--

--

Laura Kreuz
Ascent Publication

Crazy millennial who wants to change the world and loves writing. I write about marketing, relationships, and life.