What’s it Like Reading 5 Books a Month?

It’s not going to change your life, but you might just be a little more entertained and relaxed.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Ascent Publication

--

Photo Courtesy of Prostock-studio

After I graduated with my BA in Literature, I committed a literary travesty that lasted for several years. I barely read anything. Life was keeping me busy, but still, I’m always looking for different ways to read more. It’s completely possible to have a busy life and still read a lot, but I just wasn’t allocating my time that way.

Fortunately, I ended my literary misstep and resumed reading feverishly last year. I didn’t count how many books I read last year, but I’m going to estimate about thirty. It’s not a groundbreaking amount, but after only reading one or two in those first few post-grad years, it was still a good jump.

I consider myself to be a pretty avid reader, but I’ve got to be honest. I enjoy reading a lot, but turning back into a bookworm hasn’t revolutionized my life. It makes my ordinary days more fun, that’s a definite, but you shouldn’t expect reading to make a huge overnight change in your life.

Is it worth it?

Absolutely. Reading can make any commute more bearable, whether you grab a paperback on mass transit or you listen to an audiobook during your long drive.

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Ascent Publication

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.