When Your Support Network Doesn’t Exist

How to self-help and connect with people ~ when you are lonely

America Zed⚡
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Joseph Gruenthal on Unsplash

In this story, I hope to impart some useful insights from my own experience of having been “alone in everything,” emotionally and spiritually, for all my childhood years and then some.

The following brief account is not to elicit pity or show what a victim looks like but explains why I feel able to help other people who feel alone and cut-off from all the pleasures of the world.

A Rough Background

I was a highly perceptive and plucky child that had no adult person to turn to for any kind of support. No care, no respect, no conversation, love or affection. I had daily food and lived in a pretty house, but was often physically abandoned for long periods of time, without warning. When I wasn’t alone, my mother mentally abused me and I wasn’t allowed to ask questions or have an opinion.

Sometimes I was called horrible names, laughed at, and publicly humiliated in front of other children, so I hoped that I would be taken away and adopted by someone kind, but kindness never showed up. My mother enjoyed saying that she didn’t love me and I shouldn’t have been born; it was all a big mistake.

--

--

America Zed⚡
Ascent Publication

Survivor. Optimist. Compassionate Soul ❤️ INSPIRATION / HELP ~ Top Writer in POETRY https://www.solaceforthesensitive.com 🦋