Why Climbing Mount Fuji Will Help You Understand More About Japan

Climbing Mount Fuji is more than just a rewarding hike to see the magnificent views. You will experience an important part of Japan’s identity and get an insight into the Japanese spirit along the way.

Marc Chester
Ascent Publication

--

Hiking Mount Fuji is one of the most challenging, but also rewarding, things I have ever done

August is a hot month in Japan with temperatures topping thirty degrees Celsius every day. It’s also peak holiday season with many Japanese and foreign visitors travelling around the country.

I’ve made several trips to Japan in recent years. I’ve seen Fujisan, as she’s called, from the base; from across Lake Kawaguchiko; covered in snow; covered in cloud; and I’ve got the classic shot of the mountain against a clear blue backdrop. Each time, I’ve taken a few snaps before going back to the comfort of my hotel. After each visit, someone would say to me “oh how was Japan? Did you climb Fuji?” Some of these comments would be followed by a sarcastic laugh but many were genuine questions. I began to wonder what I was missing. Images of Mount Fuji are everywhere in Japan and she seems to hold this God-like status in the country.

During the summer months, Fujisan is open for business and the climbing season is from July until mid September. Travel agents…

--

--