Why I No Longer Chase After A Dream Job

It’s not because I didn’t achieve it.

Nino Padilla
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Dimitry Anikin on Unsplash

What do you wanna be when you grow up?

My very first answer to this question was to be a Painter. As a child, I loved watercolor, and I would always paint either a house or a rainbow. I enjoyed making people happy through art. But this desire changed as I’ve gotten older.

Fast forward to kindergarten, our teacher asked us the same question. She laid out flashcards that contained pictures of various professions. We were to choose the one we wanted.

I chose the Doctor flashcard. I don’t know why exactly, but I was drawn to it. I became even happier because my teacher was supportive, and my classmates were happy for me too. Maybe because, as kids, we think of doctors as people who have magical abilities to make the sickness go away. But as I’ve gotten older, I realized I didn’t like the things that come with being one. Extracting blood samples and cutting people during surgeries were too morbid for me.

Growing up, I thought of pursuing different things. Each stage in my life brought new discoveries, which made me question what I really want. A singer, priest, and scientist, these are a few of the other things I considered to be. I wonder, why does my dream change all the time? Why can’t I stick to one thing?

--

--

Nino Padilla
Ascent Publication

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.