Why I plan on writing at least 250 words a day.

Ellen Holcombe
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2016

Sometimes, words pour onto my screen before my brain can even process what my fingers are typing; sometimes writing is easy. Other times I find myself staring at a blank screen expecting to find inspiration at the bottom of coffee cup number five (or six, or seven).

Practice makes perfect.

And practice I will, 250 words at a time. I will write about anything and everything; it doesn’t matter as long as I’m writing something.

This is nothing new; it’s writing 101. It’s something that I’ve read about a thousand times, each time thinking yo that seems like a great idea, I should totally do that. But I never do, and I find myself once again staring at the dregs of coffee at the bottom of cup number eight wondering why I haven’t yet figured out where to start.

250 is a small number; my challenge shouldn’t get in the way of my work. It should, in fact, make my work a little easier. The more I write, the less time I will spend staring at the blinking cursor at the beginning of an empty page.

That’s the plan, anyway.

Why am I planning to write at least 250 words a day? So that writing becomes part of my daily routine. So that I can continue to enjoy writing for myself. So that I can start to write more efficiently (which will hopefully lead to a decrease in caffeine consumption).

They say it takes three weeks for something to become a habit.

Ready, set, write.

--

--

Ellen Holcombe
Ascent Publication

Professional Word Person. Language, gin, and coffee enthusiast. Love reading (anything with a twist) and writing (pretty much anything). www.wordperson.me