Why I started using a paper task manager instead of an app.

Omer Matityahu
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readMar 22, 2019

--

I have always been a big fan of planning. Early in my career, I managed large scale projects, which involved people, processes and information systems, sometimes I was required to cross continents and time zones. So, I always used very detailed work plans to manage the timeline and tasks. However, THERE IS such thing as too much detail with work plans, and at some point, regardless of the tool you are using, you will find yourself working for the tool instead of the tool work for you.

So, I decided to break down the various areas of the plans to high-level planning (using software products like MS Project or others with similar functionality) and daily task management checklists (using apps like Keep, Todoist or Trello).

I realized after testing at least ten apps while many applications for task and time management exist, there isn’t one that can replace the added value of sitting down with a pen and paper. It’s just faster, way more convenient, and therefore you will actually use it.

However, I wanted to know what others also thought. I came across a very interesting article on “Popular Science,” written by Amy Schellenbaum, who wrote: “Writing things down can make you feel better, mentally and physically.” Then she added: “…Once you’ve written down all the tiny things you need to get done…

--

--

Omer Matityahu
Ascent Publication

20 years of entrepreneurial and business experience, CEO at Agrinoze, co-founder of Profitect inc (sold to Zebra Technologies), maker, startup advisor, cyclist.