Why I Windowshop My Dreams, And You Should Too.

Trust me, I’m high maintenance

Daksh Dhillon
Ascent Publication
5 min readMar 25, 2019

--

I reach into the pocket of my 25,000$ Armani suit and pull out my wallet. As I pull out a crisp 100$ bill, the valet approaches and hands me the keys. I turn around and look at my red Ferrari Italia gleaming on the curb. I made it, this is my life.

And, Then I wake up

No, I don’t brush it off as a dream and crawl my way out of bed to the coffee machine. I let myself marinate in the grandness of that dream, grateful that it happened. I may not have my dreams within my grasp yet. But I have hope. So I count my hope and put it in my wallet.

What do most people do? They bury their dream, get up and make coffee, curse the traffic, curse their boss, come home and fight with their spouse. After some relief after a day spent ranting, they go to sleep.

You are not most people. Hopefully at least not after reading this story.

Let’s talk about dreams.

“Remember your dreams and fight for them. You must know what you want from life. There is just one thing that makes your dream become impossible: the fear of failure.”- Paulo Coelho

As a student, Larry Page had an irrational fear that he’d been accepted into Stanford University by mistake — which trigged an anxiety dream. He imagined that he could download the entire web onto some old computers lying around, so he got up in the middle of the night to do some maths. When he realized it was plausible, he took two years out of studying to create what became Google. Imagine how different your daily life, indeed the modern world, would be if he hadn’t had that dream.

Dreams are the language of the soul. Dreams are also something that happen when you aren't exercising conscious thought, it is the truest form of yourself. Think back to the time when you were a kid. I can bet you that you had these beautiful vivid dreams, every single day.

What happened?

Your smile gradually shrunk till it was minuscule, your embraces became more of wrapping your arms around another person, the duration becoming shorter and shorter. One thing grew, your temper and dissatisfaction with the world.

It’s fine. A child is influenced a lot by his peers and his adults. What you thought and who you became is not in your hands.

But who you become, jolly well is.

If you’re dreaming small, you’re going to end up living small

Photo by Marc Kleen on Unsplash

Windowshopping dreams? How exactly do you do that?

Well, as cliched as this sounds, Google is your friend. Trust me, Larry knows this.

Check out Ferrari’s website. Go to Sotheby's realty and see some beautiful mansions on auction and go crazy. If possible, go out and look at your dream house or dream car in person. Just don’t stalk them for days and keep in mind one thing.

Don’t replace working for your dreams with window shopping for your dreams.

But before we continue, let’s address the skepticism some of you may be feeling. Isn’t this just feel-good stuff? Life doesn’t work like that. Life does works like that and so do your brain.

I don’t have to put a dish of soupy noodles in front of you to make you hungry. Merely envisioning them will do the work and make you crave them. Then you’ll go, and do whatever you can, to find and eat soupy noodles. Same with sex and guess what, same with your dreams. But first, let’s see some proof eh.

Photo by The Journal Garden | Vera Bitterer on Unsplash

What Windowshopping dreams did for these people

  • Ed Mylett went from 0–400 Million dollars and bought his dream house. Not one similar to it. The exact same one.
  • Tony Robbins bought his castle by the sea.
  • Richard Branson got his personal heaven- Necker island

What about me?

  • I got the physique that I wanted in less than a year
  • I went from someone who wasn’t sure of his ability to write to writing something daily
  • I got the dream job that I wanted

Could be luck, except I’m not a lucky person. At least not until recently. And you know something funny:

When you change your luck changes

If you’re not convinced, please feel free to navigate away. If you want the blueprint that countless leaders and titans like Napoleon Hill have emphasized upon in books over the decades, read on.

Photo by Med Badr Chemmaoui on Unsplash

The Blueprint of turning Dreams to Reality:

First, some non-negotiables:

(a) You have to practice this every single day.

(b) No Dream is an unrealistic dream

© You work on your most important dreams first.

If this appears too systemic, it’s because life is systemic. You eat you live, you don’t eat, guess what?

Here is the blueprint,

Ponder: Wake up and think. What is it that you want? with a maniacal obsessive desire. Would you be able to die happily even if you never achieved it but gave it your best shot? Would the pursuit of that goal make you a different person from who are you are today?

If yes, continue

Note: Get a journal or buy one, Write down that dream. Not in one or two words, but in detail.

Add images, cutouts, printouts. Anything that helps make it more tangible. Also visualizing for a couple of minutes daily is a must. Post it notes work great as well.

Make it Emotional: Write down the feelings that you will experience when you have it. Describe how your life has changed, how grateful you are and how you have changed as a person in pursuit of it.

Pursuit: Then write down, given your resources and situation. What small steps can you take each day to get you one more step closer to that goal?

Here’s what the top 5 % do, they actually go and take those steps. No ifs, no buts. Each day they remind themselves of what they want, what they deserve, what is within their reach.

Mr. John down the street or Aunt Alice doesn’t remind them of what they want. They remind themselves of what they want. Every day.

Then they go out and make it happen.

They don’t wait to win the lottery. They make the lottery

So go ahead and dream. Dream bigger and dream better. Then take action towards those dreams. And eventually, When you look in the mirror at the man you could be, he’ll merely be your reflection.

If you like this, you’ll like this:

--

--

Daksh Dhillon
Ascent Publication

Media Student | Performance and Motivation Junkie | Tech Lover | Bibliophile | In a love marriage with writing :)