Why I’m Quitting my Job to Pursue my Writing, Freelancing, and Travel

How To Chase Your Dream Responsibly Without Being Reckless

N.A. Turner
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readJan 14, 2019

--

Artwork by Comfreak on Pixabay

I’ve pulled the plug. I’ve cut the cord. I’m taking the leap.

It’s been months in the making, but the time is now. I’m quitting my job to pursue my dream. It’s now or never.

I’m 29, single, and I don’t have a lot of responsibilities — yet.

I’ve been feeling this drive that I haven’t ever felt before. I had it a bit when I started a company almost 6 years ago, but it’s just not the same feeling I have when I think about writing.

It’s taken a while for me to be able to confidently declare this. Who knows? I might not make it after all. I might fail and sell only a handful of my eventual novel. Four to my mom and one to a friend.

Or… I might just be able to make a living from my writing. In many forms.

I’m going to give myself at least a year to sort it out and work for it. At least this way, I’ll never wonder “what if…?”.

This is not an article about blindly pursuing your dreams. It’s about how you can make sensible decisions to go after what you want, while still taking care of yourself. (At least how I’m trying to do it).

--

--

N.A. Turner
Ascent Publication

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail