Why is the World such a Bad Place?

JaQuan Bryant
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readMar 28, 2018
Photo by Spenser H on Unsplash

The world can be a scary place sometimes.

School shootings, bombings, racism, police brutality, terrorism, Virginia getting slaughtered in the first round, serial killers, Facebook stealing your data, etc. The world can truly appear to be a bad place, but that’s simply not true.

There are many reasons why the world can appear bad, but the truth is that it simply is not. Compared to medievil times, we’re far from a bad place. How often do you see your friend get the guillotine for saying something bad about the president?

The News

The reason the world appears bad is mainly that of the news. The news actually shows events that are not common. For example, murder was extremely common in our society, the news wouldn’t talk about it because it literally is expected.

So, whenever there is a car bombing in London or a school shooting here in America, they report it because it is not common. Now, this is not bad. I am a strong advocate that the news should spread important new such as terrorist attacks, politics, and more.

However, I also believe that the less news the better. Unfortunately, it is hard not to avoid the news. Rather it is TV, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook (while they steal your data), or your grandmother, the news is everywhere.

However, instead of looking at the news as a warning sign or a decision maker, look at it for what it truly is — updates. The news is there to simply update you on bad things and terrible things.

Because I see a school shooting doesn’t mean that I am going to pull my son out of school. It simply means that I should simply be aware that a situation like that has happened and that I should teach my son what he should do in said situation, but I am not going to make him fear school nor take him out of it.

The news is there to update you. Simple as that.

Trusting People

People say that they think the world is a bad place, but I don’t believe that they actually believe that. Why do I say that? Well, it is because they head to work daily, go to the store, watch TV, go on dates with people the rarely know, etc.

In other words, they trust people daily.

When I go to Walmart, I am trusting that no one in that store will pull out a gun and shoot me. I am trusting that the car next to me does not decide to throw a sticky bomb on my car, and I am trusting that my Vizio TV does not explode in my face when I am watching TV.

We trust people daily. When things do happen bad, like a shooting at a club you use to go to, that might scare you a little bit, but you should go around scared of everything and thinking that the world is a bad place.

Why Else Not?

Now, even if you want to believe that the world is truly a bad place, what can you do about it?

Are you going to stay at home your whole life, order pizza every day, and hope that your pizza delivery guy doesn’t kill you?

Hopefully not.

The world is a beautiful place. Yes, it has bad people who do horrific things, but even the most beautiful things in life have imperfections.

Life is meant to be lived, not feared.

When you start to change your outlook on the world, you’ll to see how amazing this place is. And to be honest, at this current time, there are not many other places we can on in the universe at the moment… so embrace this place.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this, please click the “clap” button so others will benefit from this article. It would mean the world to me!

JaQuan Bryant is a freelance digital marketer who has worked with personal brands, startups, and even politicians. He is also addicted to productivity, growing, spending time with his son, physical activities and fried chicken (especially made by his girlfriend).

--

--