Why Leadership (and Copying) May Make or Break Nations

Everyone, all of us, seemed like master copycats.

Steve Eggleston
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Jehyun Sung on Unsplash

I sat down to tap out a quick article on leadership, googled a bunch of past articles, laid verbiage to the page, and voila! Several hours later I zipped the final page from the typewriter (NOT, but in the old days it was fun), then read what I’d written. Brilliant! Well done. Smooth as silk, pithy, and it made me chuckle.

“How do you do it!” I asked self in the mirror as I adjusted my tie in the wobbly louve, the rails humming beneath my feet. Honestly, the New York Times should be messaging you on WhatsApp, begging you to open up a remote news desk in Somerset, England, or even on the train between Castle Cary and London, on which you ‘penned’ the piece. Or better yet, the New Yorker. Eggs, you’re on your way to becoming a right proper man of letters.

That night I slept on the article, as is my practice, letting it marinate like a good steak or vegan pepper sauce. Then after swallowing Pat Holford’s revitalizing Advanced Optimum Nutrition with Brain Food Pack and sipping a raw turmeric cacao half-caf, as is also my practice, I reread my masterpiece conceived in brilliance the day before.

What followed was stunned silence, a bit of electric crackle from my ear drum, and the sound of spiders…

--

--

Steve Eggleston
Ascent Publication

From Law school Valedictorian to Critically-acclaimed author. X-Manager Grammy-winning artists. Mountain climber. Marathon runner. Artist.