Photo by Duy Pham on Unsplash

Why Making Friends as an Adult is So Damn Hard

(Here’s how I make it easier)

--

I thought there was something wrong with me in high school.

I didn’t have a lot of friends. Only three to be exact.

I wasn’t anti-social. I just didn’t want all the fuss and responsibilities of managing multiple friendships.

Going to parties, celebrating birthdays, dealing with girl problems, I didn’t want it.

Instead, I committed myself to a few friends.

And it’s been that way ever since.

Why is it so hard to make new friends as an adult?

Two of my oldest high school buddies are practically family now.

The other third friendship fizzled out.

As adult life unfolded, we went our separate ways. We developed our own interests and carved out our own paths.

It’s a natural part of growing up.

But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve noticed how much harder it is to make new friends.

Recently my wife told me I should have a guys night out.

I’m a stay-at-home dad, so I don’t have many opportunities to socialize with adults.

--

--

Declan Wilson
Ascent Publication

I'm not currently active on Medium but you can see what I'm up to here→ declanwilson.co/start-here