Why “Offline Is The New Online”

Gerard Adams
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readSep 22, 2019
Instagram: Gerard Adams

I tweeted something recently that said: “all it takes is one new human connection to change the trajectory of your entire life.”

This is something I experienced after doing tons of traveling this summer. I was attending different masterminds and experiences in places like Tulum, Italy, Spain, Paris, Amsterdam & Greece.

One of the biggest realizations I had from these experiences was that:

“the new online is offline.”

I know it sounds crazy but hear me out… I’ve noticed that we’re going through a paradigm shift. Do you agree?

I’ve been pulling away from online platforms, videos & courses. Connecting online with people is great but I believe that there isn’t anything like connecting with someone’s energy in person.

Truth is your network = your social currency. That’s why it’s so important for you to get out into the world to meet new people because at any moment your life can change and all it takes is one new valuable relationship.

The key to having an extraordinary life is by creating valuable relationships because the old adage is true…we do become an average of the five people we spend the most time with. It’s your responsibility to ensure your inner circle is positive, supportive and empowering.

I challenge you to ask yourself: Is the energy I’m putting out into the world & the experiences I’m participating in of quality? If not, re-analyze your choices & adjust accordingly. Your always one decision away from a new life.

Why The New Online Is Offline

The more time we spend with technology, the less time we spend building real human connections. To build deep social connections with other people, it will require you to get out of your shell & into the real world.

People want to feel your energy in-person…they want to know the real you.

Something I learned recently was that building deep social relationships with other people leads to a 50% increased chance of living longer.

Brene Brown, a social connection expert from the University of Houston said in an interview that:

“We are biologically, cognitively, physically, and spiritually wired to love, to be loved, and to belong. When those needs are not met, we don’t function as we were meant to. We break. We fall apart. We numb. We ache. We hurt others. We get sick.”

This means if our relationships are weak, then we become weak. I genuinely believe that one person can be the component to transforming your life. This has certainly been the case for me in my success…especially as an entrepreneur.

This happened by deciding to attend events, and consciously putting myself in the same rooms with the people I wanted to learn from. I realized that REAL value and power comes from investing in building an offline relationship.

By investing my time, energy and money into masterminds; I’ve shown my dedication and commitment to building that offline relationship. Doing this allows you the opportunity to meet other like-minded individuals who are on the same mission as you. Does your inner circle have these type of people?

This reminds me of a quote:

“If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.” — African Proverb

Ultimately, I want you to start thinking about the quality of relationships that you’re cultivating & communities that you’re joining because they become apart of who you are. Social currency is everything. The higher the quality of your circle of influence, the more social currency you’ll command.

Ask yourself & reflect on these questions:

Am I putting myself in the right rooms? Am I joining communities with people I want to learn from? Am I building valuable offline relationships? Is my inner circle helping me grow?

I challenge you to write down the answers to these questions. The quality of your life is determined by the quality of your relationships. Share this article if it has brought you value and leave a comment below about what you think of the idea “offline is the new online.”

Connect with me and let me know what you think about this article. If you want to hear more about my exclusive offline mastermind experience, follow me on social for the details.

--

--

Gerard Adams
Ascent Publication

Consultant & Trusted Advisor for Conscious Founders Looking To Grow Beyond $3M — $10M In Revenue. To learn more visit www.leaderscreateleaders.com