I Spent A Year Practicing My Values Just So I Can Change Them

Drew Teller
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readJul 11, 2019

--

Drew Teller’s Instagram

Today, I turn 27.

One year ago, I wrote my first medium article about my journey of self-exploration. The article has been viewed over 1000 times, and I’m super grateful for how many people resonated with the message.

I explained how one experience changed my entire life. I was catalyzed into a never-ending journey of growth. The work began the moment I wrote down my core values.

Curiosity = to never stop asking questions for the purpose of seeking knowledge

Spontaneity = to surrender myself to uncertainty when making decisions

Transparency = to choose with honest and clear intentions

Service = to give without selfish desire

Influence = to speak with integrity and understanding so that people have an opportunity to grow

There is so much fulfillment when you practice your values. After practicing these values for one year, I’ve learned that this is the number one practice we can do as human beings because it helps us get one step closer to living with purpose.

Here’s the truth about what I’ve learned:

1) Improving your ability to process an experience has exponential growth…

--

--