Wisdom to Know the Difference

Nancy Churchill
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2018

I was introduced to the Serenity Prayer as a child. My mother tried to teach me embroidery, but I could really only manage to do a simple cross-stitch.

So my mother cleverly found pre-printed cross stitch projects for me. The Serenity Prayer was one of these projects. As I worked carefully on the beautiful design, I tried to figure out the “wisdom to know the difference” part of the prayer.

I could NOT for the life of me figure out how to decide between the two choices. What did I have power to change? What was out of my control? That would be wisdom indeed!

Decades later, I finally decoded the puzzle. I had the power to change myself. Over my thoughts, beliefs, attitudes and behaviors I had “total cosmic power”. Just like upgrading a computer operating system, I could upgrade myself.

But my power stopped at my skin. I finally realized that I had no power over the thoughts, beliefs, attitudes, and behaviors of anyone else. When I tried to manipulate, shame, blame, or intimidate someone then I was behaving in a very unhealthy and co-dependent way.

It it me or not me? If the situation is “not me”, then I don’t need to do anything. I can let go and let God. Is it mine? Then, I have some work to do. By remembering to sweep my side of the street, I have time left over to really enjoy my life.

--

--

Nancy Churchill
Ascent Publication

Writer, CoDependent, and Fellow Traveler. Student of the Twelve Steps and the Law of Attraction. I’m on Instagram at “paradeofgood” and “nancydchurchill”.