Writing Behind The Scenes: Unintentionally Underappreciated

Trevor Pippins
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2018

This is no secret. The art of writing is not respected as it should. There is much work going on behind the scenes. We cannot expect our peers to understand all of it.

The Process

People on the outside tend to assume writing is always fun and easy for us. Even those who support us and pay respect to our writing don’t understand the tedious process. Just because we do it and are passionate about it, certainly does not make it easy or enjoyable. There isn’t a clear cut path or code on how to write quality content. We have to reasearch, read, write, fail, and get back up. Doing those things every day still is not enough.

Growing Our Audiences

I don’t care about popularity, but it still matters. I often find myself having to put more thought into the headline or images than into the content. This might be the most frustrating aspect of writing because while our stories can be filled with imperfection, it seems as if our headlines have to be nearly flawless. Most, if not all of us have had our share of times where we put hours into a story, then being left wondering why it received such low engagement. While I’ll always write for myself, there is no point in publishing if it does not reach an audience.

Working For Free

My purpose for publishing, is to use my knowledge and past experiences to make a positive impact on others. Improvement, is the incentive for writing every day even when I am not ready to publish. My writing will not serve it’s purpose if I take days off. Every writer has their own goals and improving is the only clear way to reach them. Often it has to be treated like a full time job without pay. Whether it’s to get paid or for another reason, writing daily is the only way to get better every day.

Call To Action

Did you enjoy reading this story? Show support with claps and respond with your thoughts. You can follow me on Medium, and Twitter for more.

--

--

Trevor Pippins
Ascent Publication

Storyteller, NBA fanatic, Gamer and Certified Bookworm.