You Are Not Lazy; You Are Distracted

Three ways to reach the finish line without feeling guilty

Asmita Karanje
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Matheus Ferrero on Unsplash

I always thought starting something is the most difficult thing to do, but I was wrong.

Being a writer for the past two years has taught me showing up each day is even more challenging. I have my bouts of procrastination every month. Some days are easy, and some others not so much.

Last weekend, I scheduled four hours toward writing. I had the perfect setting, had no distractions around me, there were no unresolved problems at the office or any pending household chores.

Ideal, right?

But was it productive?

Unfortunately, the answer is no.

I spent over five hours writing barely 500 words, and I am not proud of it. I must have read a dozen articles, got lost in thoughts several times, and ticked a few tasks off my to-do list. But, I didn’t finish writing that article.

A Psychology professor says,

“People engage in this irrational cycle of chronic procrastination because of an inability to manage negative moods around a task.”

I was procrastinating. Moreso, I was guilty of procrastinating.

--

--