You Are Perfectly Productive Without Even Knowing It

Productivity shaming won’t improve your life during a pandemic.

Julian Drach
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

As this pandemic started and I began to work from home, I made many plans for the upcoming months. I wanted to study more, work harder, reorganize my room, and reach my fitness goals. After all, I had about two hours more time every day because of the missing commutes. It turned out I wasn’t as productive as I set out to be during this time. And I think this is alright. Here’s why.

Fulfilling basic needs is productive, too.

Being torn between the fear of the unknown and self-isolation is already mentally taxing enough. Crippled by this feeling, fulfilling basic needs like cooking, sleeping enough, and taking care of daily chores can be challenging and productive enough. It’s not necessary to start several businesses under these conditions, yet we are holding ourselves accountable to this high standard.

Society has put busyness on a pedestal. It’s somewhat glorified if someone can’t meet up with family and friends due to their busy schedule. And when such behavior is socially rewarded, we start to be addicted to the feeling of busyness. We begin to fill our days with tasks, no matter how meaningless, to reach a sense of belonging, without creating…

--

--

Julian Drach
Ascent Publication

German lawyer and doctoral candidate. I am here to share my experiences and insights. Sometimes I‘ll add some banter.