You Aren’t Lazy, You’re Disinterested

The self-help gurus in white with their angel wings don’t tell you what I’m going to explain.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readMar 10, 2021

--

Photo by Evan Link on Unsplash

I’m a polar bear when it comes to doing laundry.

I’ll lounge around for hours and not do it, while wrapped in a furry white blanket of comfort that lives on my couch by the tv remote with the taboo word “Netflix” on it. I don’t have Netflix, though. My remote control still has the word printed on it in the hope I’ll cave and take up couch life. But I have better things to do. Unavoidable things that suck me into their vortex.

My partner thinks my disgust for laundry makes me lazy at times. On the surface, I believed this to be true. The other day I was scrolling through LinkedIn, and a Gary-Freaking-Vee quote of all things left me speechless.

You aren’t lazy, you’re disinterested.
You’re not lazy, you just don’t love what you do.

These words exploded in my brain. I feel like this advice from Gary explains laziness perfectly.

It’s incredibly hard to do something you hate.

Laziness is the perfect distraction. It’s easier to sit on your butt and do nothing than it is to go and do something you’re disinterested in.

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb