Your Creative Genius Can Run Out of Energy (It’s Normal)

Here’s how to get it back, based on my recent experience.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readFeb 4, 2021

--

Your creativity runs on energy.

Even if your parents are both navy seals and own matching Pelotons, your creative energy will run out.

My creativity has run out several times over the last seven years as a writer, including recently. I managed to rediscover my creativity again. It wasn’t easy. It felt like I was at a crossroads. All of this is the process of reinvention.

When you reinvent yourself creatively, you become a better version. An upgraded version. The challenge is you’re forced to face the why behind what you’re doing. Your ‘why’ behind your creativity is there to slap you in the face when your ego runs wild, your willpower evaporates, or your idea muscle is running on empty and begging for a protein shake.

Creativity means ‘to create.’ You’re at your best when you create. But continually creating something from scratch has its limits.

Why does your creativity run out?

You’ve worked it too hard.

You have tried to deploy your creativity way too hard. You’ve created too much content. You’ve taken too much time away from family…

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb