Confessions of a Gay Asian Drama Addict

When your love for k-drama becomes your personal k-drama

Nathan Chen
The Asian Rainbow

--

Image generated by DALL-e

Let’s be real, my love affair with Asian dramas started way before Netflix decided to make it cool. I mean, we’re talking about a time when the most high-tech streaming device was the family desktop, and buffering was a genuine test of patience and willpower. So, here I am, a grown ass man who can’t get enough of those addictively dramatic K-dramas and C-dramas, and honestly, I’m not even mad about it.

The First Encounter

It all began on a lazy afternoon, the kind where you’re aimlessly clicking through channels and stumble upon a scene where two stunningly good-looking people are caught in a slow-mo, tear-filled gaze. Next thing I know, I’m 10 episodes deep, emotionally invested in whether Kim Soo-hyun will find out that Jun Ji-hyun is actually an alien. Spoiler alert: He does, and it’s epic.

The “It’s Just A Phase” Phase

My friends were like, “Oh, it’s just a phase. He’ll get over it.” Little did they know, this wasn’t just a phase; this was the beginning of an epic journey. A journey filled with love triangles, evil mother-in-laws, chaebol heirs with amnesia, and enough plot twists to make your head spin.

--

--

Nathan Chen
The Asian Rainbow

I'm Nathan Chen, a queer Asian writer advocating for LGBTQ+ issues, Asian representation, work life & mental health. Let's explore life's complexities together!