Mercure Shanghai Yu Garden Review

The Asian Rambler
The Asian Rambler
Published in
4 min readOct 1, 2019

After arriving into Shanghai, I headed straight to my meeting. By the time I was done, it was already 4pm so I decided to order a car through Didi to go to my hotel, Mercure Shanghai Yu Garden, where I would stay for the night before heading to Hangzhou early next morning.

The driver dropped me right in front of the fountain in the photo above, thinking the hotel entrance might be right behind it. Interesting enough, the entrance of the hotel was actually on the right side of the building, while entrance at the front of the building actually belongs to a totally unrelated restaurant.

Once headed inside the main door, there was a nice lounge area to the right.

Then it is the check-in area once you walked past this area.

Although there were two staff members at the check-in area, one of them was on the phone resolving another issue. I had to wait for about 10 minutes before the person in front of me finished checking in before it was my turn.

The whole check-in process lasted only about 5 minutes. I was then given room 8657 on the 6th floor.

I took the lift up to the 6th floor and walked down this hallway.

Room 8657 is almost towards the end of the hallway, and how interesting do the sign and the doorbell look!

Once I opened the door, there was the sink area on the left.

Under the sink, that’s where the bath towels were stored.

Right next to the sink area was a storage area.

There were two complementary bottled water, a cattle, some cups and a goodie box.

Inside the goodie box, you would find the standard coffee, tea and sugar packets.

The toilet and shower were right behind the sink area.

Looking straight past the bathroom area, that is where the TV and open closet located.

On the right side of the TV, there is small table with a phone and a Chinese book on it.

Last but not least, it is the bed which sits right in front of the TV. It also comes with two nice pillows.

For HK$708.25 (~US$91) a night, this property is definitely not as luxurious as its 5-star counterparts in Shanghai. However, it did give a sense of coziness the moment I entered the room. With Yu Garden, the Bund, Nanjing Road and Shanghai Museum all within 25-min walking distance, this hotel is in a prime location. I would highly recommend for all travelers who are in town to visit the beautiful city of Shanghai if you are just looking for a cozy hotel to stay at in the middle of the city.

--

--