An Interview With Athena

Gutbloom
The Athenaeum
Published in
5 min readJul 1, 2017

--

As I’ve pointed out, The Athenaeum is not living up to its Mission Statement. Yes, we have a mission statement. Please don’t mock our mission statement. It took us four days at a mountain retreat and six bottles of peppermint schnapps to come up with it. It reads:

The Athenaeum is committed to providing cutting-edge, best-in-class, researched based, artisinal blog posts, journal entries, hippo-splatter, speculative fiction, and fantasy… “things”… for the purpose of entertainment, justice, equality, lulz, centerdness, healing, and, most importantly, recommends. We’re all about the recommends. We’re not above exchanging sex for recommends.

So, you see, the sex for recommends is really part of our mission statement. You thought I was kidding when I told you that at the Medium picnic last year, didn’t you?

Anyway, as I pointed out in my previous whiny statement about stats, pieces published in the Athenaeum get fewer views than stuff I just publish myself. Placing blog posts in the Athenaeum is like dropping bricks in a well.

--

--

Gutbloom
The Athenaeum

Tribune of Medium. Mayor Emeritus of LiveJournal. Third Pharaoh of the Elusive Order of St. John the Dwarf. I am to Medium what bratwurst is to food.