The Table of Condiments

Gutbloom
The Athenaeum
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2016

If you were around last year you may have seen my “Metaphysic of Condiments.” It was, I think, the post that made the curation bots of Medium mistake me for a food blogger.

I take condiments seriously. The picture you see in the title image above is a “Council of Condiments” that I have at least once a month in my kitchen. I get all of the condiments out of the refrigerator and cupboards and we discuss how everyone is getting on. I would love to tell you which condiment complains the most, but one of the group “norms” is confidentiality, so if I told you it was Horseradish that would be a no-no.

I have a table that I keep of which condiments go with which foods. I hate to complain about not getting what I want out of a free service, but Medium’s lake of HTML tables is a drag. Their solution is embedding air tables, which I have done in the past, but I don’t like the results.

Instead of Airtable I created an HTML table, took a picture of it, and added that. I don’t think the result is much better than an Airtable. If you don’t like this post, I blame Medium. You can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear, you know.

The Table of Condiments

Others in this series:

These are the food blogging entries of meals from my youth. We didn’t have Instagram when I was a kid so there are no pictures of the items discussed. I know next to nothing about food and virtually no sense of smell, so you really shouldn’t listen to anything I have to say on the subject.

--

--

Gutbloom
The Athenaeum

Tribune of Medium. Mayor Emeritus of LiveJournal. Third Pharaoh of the Elusive Order of St. John the Dwarf. I am to Medium what bratwurst is to food.