Wins and Waterloos

Why I Was Gone Right After I Came Back

Gutbloom
The Athenaeum

--

The Mower

I hit a rock with my Snapper lawn mower. When it wouldn’t start again, I knew what had happened. Normally I would take it to my local small engine shop, but the mower is old, so I watched a few YouTube videos and ordered the parts online. I had to take the flywheel off and replace the flywheel key. The flywheel didn’t come off easily. I watched more YouTube videos and bought… again online… a flywheel “puller”. Really, I bought two, because the first one I bought was the wrong size. Once I had the right size, it took a little work, but I removed the flywheel, then replaced the flywheel key, and the machine started up like a champ. It’s been running ever since.

Score: 1 for Gutbloom and the Mechanical Age

I had to take a trip to Chicago this summer because my only child, Mayor McFreaky, was graduating from Navy boot camp. The whole trip had to be 100% refundable due to the fact that the date of graduation could change right up until the last week. I booked through Expedia because it feels like a travel agent.

In my twenties, when I was working in the Boston Public Schools, I lived in West Roxbury. I went to a chain-smoking travel agent who looked and talked like my aunts. I would walk in and say, “I want to go to Bermuda” and she would ask, “how much do you want to spend?”…

--

--

Gutbloom
The Athenaeum

Tribune of Medium. Mayor Emeritus of LiveJournal. Third Pharaoh of the Elusive Order of St. John the Dwarf. I am to Medium what bratwurst is to food.