Why You Need To Do A 30 Day Challenge

Broderick Cotter
The Athlete
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2024

A 30 day challenge isn’t just a way to get something done, its a way to push yourself outside of your comfort zone, in a controlled and low commitment manner.

Photo by John Arano on Unsplash

I recently started doing a 30 day writing challenge, and not only have I found that I love writing, but its a great way to grow my Medium account and be productive towards my long term goals outside of my regular day.

We all have a passion, or something that we wish we did more of, but often blame the fact that we don’t have time, or just procrastinate it with more short term things like watching TV or going out to eat, but what if I told you that you could do both

You don’t need to spend an hour on this challenge every day

You don’t need to spend 30 minutes on this challenge

You don’t even need to spend 15 minutes.

Just 5 minutes a day for 30 days will create a lasting habit, and if you really enjoy it then you will extend that time automatically. When I started my 30 day writing challenge, I went into it with the intention of just writing for 5 minutes, but often I enjoyed it so much that, that 5 minutes became 30 minutes, and one night that 5 minutes turned into 2 hours!

If you are having trouble you can always text a friend and ask them to join you on this challenge, not only will this further motivate you, but you will have someone to stay accountable with on the rough days, and if you miss a day, don’t give up. Just keep going.

Lets Get Started

Now put on some music, figure out what you’re gonna do, text a friend and follow me to stay motivated and get tips along the way.

I’ll see you in 30 days.

--

--

Broderick Cotter
The Athlete

Writing about my journey as a competitive athlete and the tools/mindsets that have helped me along the way