A cup of coffee

Luís Rodrigues Alves
the audiovisual ugh
3 min readJul 15, 2016

--

Regular morning, regular routine, regular money.

By the time the work was done, I was, as usual, tired and dead in the brain.

I went to Nobi’s to grab a cup of coffee. He gave me a full cup, just like I like it. But upon tasting it, something was not quite right…

“Is this a decaf? I hate decaf Nobi, I need caffeine! Otherwise, whats the point in coffee?”

“I’m sorry buddy, but you’re drinking the best coffee there is.”

And by the time he said that, the cup was already three quarters full.

“Did you know that in Portugal when people ask for coffee they actually mean an espresso? It’s amazing how culturally different coffee behaviors can be. Coffee unites everyone together!” — Said Nobi.

“Except for people who hate coffee!” — Shouted a random guy with bad teeth seating far away next to the window. “You know, coffee besides being very bitter and rude, is full of caffeine which affects your digestive system. Not only that, but your nervous system get’s all pumped up, and ready to make you vomit blood! And it’s hot!”

I looked at my cup, and it was half full by now.

And then, as if teleporting, the random guy who once was far away was now close to my face.

“You know, buddy, coffee can come from several places! But you shouldn’t drink blood!”

“What the fuck are you talking about?”

“Brazil, Indonesia, Vietnam, Colombia, Mexico, Uganda, Ivory Coast, Guatemala, Peru, Kenya, Hooverphonic! All those countries produce amazing coffee, and Hooverphonic used to produce good albums! But you know, coffee isn’t only about caffeine and production. Coffee is also about sharing your love with your friends.”

“Nobi, who the fuck is this guy?”

“Ignore him and drink your decaf. I made it just for you. A special decaf, full of protein. Coffee is amazing and comes from the Coffea plant. Now, you should drink all the coffee and blood you can get! Never forget that you’re rich and you can have this luxury to drink.”

By the time Nobi said that, the cup was only a quarter full. And it was then that I realized that I‘ve been drinking blood all along. This wasn’t coffee. This wasn’t even Nobi’s coffee shop.

“You seem stressed and anxious! BUT DON’T WORRY!! All you need is more coffee!”

Nobi started pouring so much blood into the cup that the cup overflowed.

Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! Blood! Blood! Blood! Blood! Blood! Blood! Blood! Blosd! Bloasd! Asodk! somads ! spd apd,a spd apda psd ,asd,aspd adpo,a sdp,aps dapo dasd aopf asoidmc slk fdslkcxm lkesm dflvk clkm lk xclk slkclxkm esoijfkn b zupfiv wAPSCM PFABOEMT KFDD K

Blood everywhere. I was alone, with blood in my pants, seating. Nobi was dead. The random guy was dead. I killed everyone.

This is what happened that got me imprisoned. I wish you could help me. Please help me, I beg you. This jail is known for the way they torture people like me.

--

--

Luís Rodrigues Alves
the audiovisual ugh

crap art maker; sometimes i make games about love, death and dreams & mobile apps for people, aliens and friends.