remember?

Michael Vorhis
The Author’s Lounge
1 min readFeb 15, 2024

a poem

Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash

Awe and wonder, completely unbridled

An unrestrained wanderlust, reckless abandon

I’m tired of living pedestrian horrors, come with me, let’s steal a spaceship and fly away

Mountains and fairies and fire-breathing dragons

Let’s brave the unknown like we did when we fell in love

Tears down our cheeks, let’s go running in parking lots

Screw the whole world, we’ll create our own destiny

Why do we stare at the red ink and worry, dear?

Why do we stress out and fret about everything?

Why don’t we jump in the puddles on rainy days?

Why are we so terrified of that purity?

Who has convinced us a dollar means anything?

Why do we let them confuse and indoctrinate?

Darling, I’m done trying to figure it out

Come dance with your man on a moonlit adventure

You’ll kiss me like we’re still in high school, we’ll nervously hold hands surrounded by color and mystery

I think I’m beginning to see us come alive again,

te amare para siempre, amor

For my wife

--

--

Michael Vorhis
The Author’s Lounge

Born and raised in California, USA. Freethinker. Lover of words. Someday, I hope to live and write in peace.