Writer’s Block Isn’t What You Think It Is

Michael Vorhis
The Author’s Lounge
2 min readFeb 11, 2024
Photo by Dollar Gill on Unsplash

If you’re a writer, you’ve experienced the feeling of wanting to write but not being able to produce like you want to. This common sensation has been universally recognized as “Writer’s Block.”

I used this term frequently before meeting my creative writing teacher in college. I had previously accepted the idea that there were creative forces within me which simply wouldn’t budge, like they were escaping my mind or trapped like an animal in a snare. That is, until my teacher boldly stated in front of the class,

Writer’s block is a myth! You are not constipated, you are empty, so you need to go fill up on life and experience before touching another pen or Google document.

I was stunned. I was vaguely offended. And I was and still am incredibly grateful for his illuminating perspective.

The truth is, sometimes the desire to write is not enough, one must cultivate inspiration — we forge our stories and imaginations from our past and present experiences.

If you are a writer and you feel “stuck,” FILL UP!!! See a movie in the theater, talk to a stranger in the park, read a book outside your usual genre, go to a concert, visit your local library and people watch. It doesn’t matter what it is, but DO something. Because you are not constipated, you need to consume more life.

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Michael Vorhis
The Author’s Lounge

Born and raised in California, USA. Freethinker. Lover of words. Someday, I hope to live and write in peace.