The Secret to Getting Ahead

Getting started is the key to getting ahead

Dean Middleburgh
The Aware Wolf

--

The world changes every day, yet most of us rarely notice the slight shifts that occur beneath our feet. We drift through life; many of us sleepwalking from one birthday to the next, wondering if the next year will bring us more luck and excitement.

Then roughly every ten years or so, disaster strikes. Our way of existence is thrown off balance, and that excitement we have yearned for is dumped on our doorstep without warning. When it is not what we were expecting we try to un-wish those thoughts away and pray for life to return to the way it was.

I was one of those people.

In 2008 I was a younger unassuming individual. I adopted my school tendencies and blended into the background, observing a world I struggled to understand. For the most part, I was staggered and confused with how the majority of society went about their lives. I would question why we had to live this way, and why we dug ourselves into an early grave.

In those days, I was thankful to have an entry-level job. I told myself at the time that my bad grades at school, combined with my inability to focus, meant this was probably as good as it was going to get for me.

--

--

Dean Middleburgh
The Aware Wolf

An NLP Practitioner and emotional intelligence coach who loves to write, travel, and learn new skills.