March’s Theme: Faith & Spirituality

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative
2 min readMar 3, 2015

Going off my last post about being mindful, Austin and I have decided that March’s theme is Faith and Spirituality. The theme fits well with the Lenten season just beginning and Easter on the horizon.

This month will test us to confront some of our deepest troubles and ultimately strengthen our relationships with God.

We do not want to impose any of our beliefs onto anyone else. There is great beauty when we see faith with an open mind and in learning about different forms of spirituality. Austin had an interesting experience related to this recently.

Due to the personal nature and meaning derived from faith and spirituality, we’ve decided not to set any required challenges, but rather, come up with our own personal challenges to focus on. One thing we’re both looking forward to is attending each other’s churches since that’s something we never did while living together last year.

For my personal challenge, I want to make my faith a part of my daily life not just something I partake in a couple days a week. My primary challenge is to pray daily because it’s something I haven’t made into a habit yet. A few other things I will do in March include going on an Alternative Spring Break trip to Washington D.C. with a group from my church, continuing to attend a couple church discussion groups I recently joined, attending mass of course, and just surrounding myself with nice, humble people who will help me strengthen my faith.

Now, I’d like to end this post with a poem/prayer that was recently presented to me and had a truly significant impact. It’s by Father Pedro Arrupe, the Co-founder of the Center of Concern.

Fall In Love

Nothing is more practical than

finding God, than

falling in Love

in a quite absolute, final way.

What you are in love with,

what seizes your imagination, will affect everything.

It will decide what will get you out of bed in the morning,

what you do with your evenings,

how you spend your weekends,

what you read, whom you know,

what breaks your heart,

and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.

Fall in Love, stay in love,

and it will decide everything.

Tell us what faith means to you and how you will strengthen your faith this month in the comments below.

Originally published at www.awesomeinitiative.org on March 3, 2015.

Join the Awesome Initiative’s exclusive mailing list!

--

--

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative

curious listener, inspired writer, and follower of Jesus