My Favorite Gift To Give

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative
2 min readFeb 7, 2016

So your friend, sibling, parent, child, significant other, cousin, or someone else you care about has a birthday or special occasion coming up, and you have no idea what to get them for a gift.

Consider this…be creative and make something he or she can use everyday and that will bring out the joy in his or her life!

I present to you, the Jar of Awesome!

The Jar of Awesome is the perfect gift for anyone who wants to become more mindful of all the good things in his or her life.

Basically, anytime you’re feeling grateful for or happy about a person, thing, or moment, you write it down on a little piece of paper and put it in the jar. Over time the jar will fill up. Then, whenever you’re feeling down, you can open it and read through those awesome things to lift yourself up.

I got the idea from a Tim Ferriss podcast episode where he told listeners about this gift one of his ex-girlfriend’s made for him (it wasn’t the reason they broke up…I’m assuming). I loved the idea so much that I decided to make it myself and give it as Christmas gift to both my girlfriend and sister, Katelyn.

Here’s how you can make it for your (insert important person in your life).

Step 1: Find a cool-looking jar

I found my jar at Target. Hobby Lobby, Michael’s, or other craft stores, are also likely destinations for jars.

Step 2: Gather art supplies

Fun stickers and colorful markers were the supplies that I found most valuable.

Step 3: Decorate!

Go wild!

Step 4: Wrap & deliver

Sounds simple enough.

Step 5: Prepare to be given a big hug!

Did he or she love it? I bet so…now it’s time to make a Jar of Awesome for yourself!

Join the Awesome Initiative’s exclusive email list!

--

--

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative

curious listener, inspired writer, and follower of Jesus