The Power of The Early Morning

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative
2 min readAug 28, 2015

A few days ago I woke up at 6:30am to finish and publish the post I wrote about summer jobs called: 14 Lessons From Making Pizzas, Being Spiderman, Saving Lives, & Other Jobs

I had to go into work at 9:30am that day, and I knew I wanted to get that post out, so that’s what I did — I woke up at 6:30am.

This isn’t something I do everyday…that was the point. I realized I like writing enough to wake up early to do it.

It was a powerful realization for me.

So powerful that when, later that day, I was in Barnes & Noble, I bought a book called 300 Writing Prompts, promising myself that I’d write on one prompt a day.

Here’s how this story relates to you:

If you’re a high school or college student or young professional in the 21st century, everybody and their mother will give you the ambiguous advice to “follow your passion” without much detail of how to do that or even how to identify this enigmatic “passion.”

For me, I believe there are certain questions that can cause us to reflect and then identify “passion” in our lives. A few days ago, I stumbled across a new question:

What would you wake up early to do?

When you come up with an answer, do that. Do it a lot.

Image source: on-select.com

Originally published at www.awesomeinitiative.org on August 28, 2015.

Join the Awesome Initiative’s exclusive mailing list!

--

--

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative

curious listener, inspired writer, and follower of Jesus