The Simplest Way To Increase The Value Of Everything Around You

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative
3 min readFeb 7, 2016
Credit: Pierre Rougier

I sat in my 8am class Tuesday morning…drowsy and barely attentive, listening to a man who was wearing his v-neck sweater backwards.

At first, this obvious blunder distracted me from the guest speaker’s words and message, but what followed was unexpectedly remarkable. Over the next two hours, this guy was so engaging, so full of wisdom, so appreciative that it didn’t even matter that his sweater was on backwards.

In fact, during that class, I started wondering if I should be wearing my sweaters backwards.

The speaker’s name was Bob Quinn (learn more about him here) and I’m convinced that he understands alchemy.

Alchemy has a long history; back when the term was more commonly used, it literally referred to the science of transforming ordinary metals and objects into gold. In other words, someone who knew alchemy could increase the value of everything around him or herself by turning any given object into gold.

Today, in this context, I’m using the less literal meaning and instead, focusing on the part about being able to increase the value of everything around you. As I said, Bob knows how to do this, and he taught my class how to do it too. Now, I can teach you.

First lesson…

What does the word “appreciate” mean?

Google says…

Yes. That’s it.

The simplest way to increase the value of everything around you is to recognize the full worth of everything. Appreciate stuff and people and life.

That’s it.

My theme for February is “Appreciating Beauty.” I never realized how beautiful the world actually was, until I started looking to appreciate its beauty.

This past week I appreciated the beauty of…

hidden treasures in nearby neighborhoods…like this tire swing

and the ironic moments in my life

and the peace I feel on Sunday mornings.

Beauty is all around us, and appreciating it is the simplest way to increase the value of the world.

Maybe you’ll make a similar discovery as you begin to appreciate more.

Join the Awesome Initiative’s exclusive email list!

--

--

Jacob Derry
The Awesome Initiative

curious listener, inspired writer, and follower of Jesus